Banished : Stonehearst (Part 2)

Having survived the first decade, Stonehearst burst into life in the second decade. Although the first few years of the second decade was kind of slow, due to the expected lack of babies (since only 1 newborn girl during the first decade).

This is what I like about the game, even after two pretty straightforward games in the previous posts, the game throws you a curveball with this lack of female genes, resulting in a stagnating population. But I had foresaw this problem and had my Town Hall up and running early. Unfortunately, it took until the Spring of 1613 before three nomads showed up. 3?!

With the lack of manpower, my Trading Docks went up late, I only had one until the end of 1615, before finally adding another two more.

The 3 Trading Docks.

The 3 Trading Docks.

And with those docks, I finally had enough stone to bridge the divide. I wasn’t getting ahead but just planning ahead, there were plenty of places left on the starting side.

Bridge over River Kwai

Bridge over River Kwai

The main trading goods in the early game are firewood and venison. Firewood can be your steady income throughout the game if you plan it well. Once the village is set up, it is time to turn towards Wool Coats and Ale. These two are good products to place your faith in. The number one choice to start your brewery would be berries, since you pick them wild. Next you would need orchards for other types. My suggestion would be to pick one or two fruits to be your main brew, the rest could be use for dietary purposes, don’t over populate your settlement with an assortment of fruit trees.

The Door and Jamb Brewery

The Door and Jamb Brewery

And a view of the upcoming farming district.

Farms

Farms

An advice on farms, don’t build too many of them in the early stages because you might not have enough manpower to harvest them and everything will go to waste if you miss the harvesting season.

Funny Deaths

Another reason why I like the game so much, I haven’t had these in my first two games.

Oops

Oops

And I thought I had a 99% educated townsfolk.

And I thought I had a 99% educated townsfolk.

Leave a Reply

