Goldener Anker

What do you do after a day of traveling around, no proper lunch and drenched in rainwater? You seek out a nice cosy restaurant, warm and hopefully, some good food. That’s what I did, or rather, the whole family did. I read about this restaurant online and since we were in the area, we should drop by for a visit.

 

Goldener Anker

Goldener Anker

The restaurant is located below the Hotel Anker. I think they are part of the same establishment. No reservations needed. At least we didn’t have one. The place was big enough to entertain a lot of guests and they even have a pool table and a bar. I would say, a typical hotel-owned restaurant. It was warm. The staff were friendly and the menu came in two languages.

Veal with morel sauce

Veal with morel sauce

This dish was recommended by the online reviews that I read. Despite the looks, it wasn’t that spicy at all. The veal was well cooked and the sauce was something different. Creamy with a tinge of spice. No wonder it was the recommended dish.

I think this is the lamb fillet.

I think this is the lamb fillet.

Since there were six of us, we get to order and try out five dishes, but one was a repeat of the veal with morel sauce. This, if I’m not mistaken, is the lamb fillet and a side dish of vegetables, legumes and other leafy things.

Mom just can't eat without rice.

Mom just can’t eat without rice.

This is perched fish from the lakes. I’m not sure which lake they meant, it could have been Lake Thun or Lake Brienz. Anyway, Mom just have to eat with rice. She can’t go a day without rice so she got what she wished. The fish tasted fresh, I guess it was just caught in the morning and since it came fillet style, you don’t have to worry about the tiny fish bones.

Steak

Steak

I like my steak well done and this didn’t disappoint. The portion was huge and the sauce was juicy enough to match the tenderized beef. Overall, I think the restaurant delivered what we wanted. Whenever I go on tours, all I wanted was to have a nice warm meal, without paying through the nose and satisfying on the stomach. This place did just that. We were able to kick back, enjoy the food, talked for awhile in a nice and quiet environment. The place is not too far from the town center so it’s within walking distance.

Goldener Anker

Marktgasse 57, Interlaken

One Comment

Leave a Reply

