Singapore Eats

Follow me as I round-up the remaining dishes that I savoured during my short trip to the island city of Singapore.

Killiney Kopitiam

Located on Killiney Road, a mere 200-metre walk from the Somerset MRT station, lies Killiney Kopitiam. I was here on a working day and the place was packed with people enjoying their breakfast before heading off to work. So do check your schedule first, unless you have plenty of time to wait.

The procedure is simple, queue up to order, pay the amount, find a place to sit and wait for the food to arrive. Still not sure what to order? Killiney is famous for its kaya and butter toast bread. Still don’t trust me yet? I have the picture to prove it.

Kaya Toast & Milk Tea

Kaya Toast & Milk Tea

Lai Kee Dim Sum

It is hard to find affordable dim sum in a place such as Singapore, but this man (Ah Lai) managed to do so. On top of that, he has 4 branches throughout Singapore. But for those who have a problem with maps and walking, these places will be hard to find. After doing my research, I found that the Bukit Batok branch was the nearest to the public transport (Bukit Batok MRT), hence that was where I headed to.

Lai Kee Dim Sum (Bukit Batok Branch)

Lai Kee Dim Sum (Bukit Batok Branch)

Dim Sum isn’t your traditional hawker dish, the famous ones in Kuala Lumpur and Ipoh are shopfronts. Prices could range from S$4-$5 per basket, Lai Kee managed to keep theirs to around S$2 per basket. But then, you don’t get to have it in an air-conditioned area. You might feel that S$2 per basket is spare change, but the average person would probably order at least 2, and if there’s two of you, it could be up to 4-5 baskets.

Siew Mai (pork) & Har Gow (prawn)

Siew Mai (pork) & Har Gow (prawn)

These bite size delicacies are usually meat-filled wrapped in flour or vegetables. They are also served piping hot.

Ichiban Sliced Fish Soup

I have a favourite sliced fish soup stall that I frequent almost every week back in my hometown. So I purposely went in search for a similar shop in Singapore to try it out. Lucky for me, I found this place which was part of my itinerary. The stall is located at Seah Im Food Centre, which is located across the highway from the Harbourfront MRT.

Ichiban Seafood

Ichiban Seafood

I was actually going on a hike to the famous Henderson Waves, so a little bit of protein before the journey is good. The fish that they use here is the Sea Bass instead of the usual Dory. You can choose between the fried version or the fresh fish. Both are equally good on their own.

Look at the fish slices!

Look at the fish slices!

One good thing is that they don’t skimp on the slices, and you get to have a generous amount of sliced fish served fresh! However, as compared to the one back home, the soup base at Ichiban is slightly to plain for my liking. The stall from my hometown actually boiled her soup with the fish bones, giving the soup a different taste.

Nam Sing Hokkien Mee

On my last day in Singapore, I trekked all the way with my luggage in tow to Old Airport Road Food Court just to have a try at this particular stall, which was crowned the winner of the best Hokkien Mee in Singapore, surely a must try.

In case you were wondering why did I do that on a day when I was supposed to catch a flight? The reason was that I had it all planned to try this particular dish on an earlier date, but when I reached there at 6pm, the stall was already closed. I asked around and someone told me that they usually finish by 4pm, although they are supposed to be opened till 7-8pm at night.

Nam Sing Hokkien Mee

Nam Sing Hokkien Mee

Luckily, the food court was quite conveniently located within the vicinity of the Mountbatten MRT, it wasn’t such an arduous task that I made it out to be. This time around, I was there early (9am) and yet I was not able to order either because they were just preparing. So I just sat there and watch them prepare with the expert movements of a team of synchronized dancers.

Look at the texture!

Look at the texture!

Half an hour later, they were opened for business. Lo and behold, my Hokkien Mee arrived perfectly cooked, neither too dry nor too wet. He sure does have some skill but I think age is catching up on him, so if you are still up and eager to try this dish, be sure to do so pretty soon. But you might need to loosen up your schedule if you need to fit this place in.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

